I watched Woody Allen‘s Annie Hall for what was probably the 101st time the other night and … well … can you blame me for wanting to take a moment to post this truly hysterical moment?

First of all, I’m a big admirer of Allen’s films and although Annie Hall isn’t my personal favorite (sacrilege, I know, but that crown lies with The Purple Rose of Cairo) I do think Hall is Allen’s tour-de-forcce and a real benchmark in romantic comedy. His script is sharp, fast and deeply funny, and his direction is so natural (you can’t get much more natural than two people just sitting and talking) that the more risky, experimental aspects of the film come across flawlessly.

Alvy Singer‘s reflections on his childhood have a touch of Felliniesque surrealism to them, and Allen’s defiantly New York humor is irresistible. My favorite of these sequences comes early in the film as the young Alvy Singer– every bit as neurotic and paranoid as his adult counterpart– takes a moment to wonder how his old schoolmates turned out.

“I run a profitable dress company” …

“I’m President of the Pinkus Plumbing Company” …

“I sell thailis…” …

“I was a heroin addict now I’m a methadone addict”…

and everyone’s favorite (drumroll…):

“I’m into leather.”

Pitch bloody perfect.

Leave a comment

Trending